Roland Emmerich Calls Marvel Movies “Silly”

When Bryan Singer’s X-Men rolled out into cinemas in 2000, it was clear that the director and the studio took liberties, particularly with the costumes, to make the Marvel franchise more accessible to a wider audience.  Since then, the average movie goers suspension of disbelief has grown accustomed to the insanity that is the comic book world.  The Marvel Cinematic Universe, beginning with Iron Man(2008), has taken full advantage of this and has found major success.  However one man still can’t buy into it.

In an interview with The Guardian while promoting his upcoming film, Independence Day: Resurgence, director Roland Emmerich had this to say about the genre,

“When you look at my movies it’s always the regular Joe Schmo that’s the unlikely hero. A lot of Marvel movies, they show people in funny suits running around. I don’t like people in capes. I find it silly when someone dons a superhero suit and flies. I don’t understand it. I grew up in Germany, that’s probably why.”

Now, I’ve always been one to defend the superhero movie craze whenever I’ve come across people expressing their distaste for it.  Yes I know the ideas can be viewed as ludicrous but that’s where a lot of the enjoyment comes from.  Comic books have always been my escape from the depression that is “life”.  At the same time I’m able to become invested in the characters, whether it’s one I can relate to–i.e., Spider-Man and Kamala Khan, or ones I can aspire to be like–i.e., Superman and Captain America.

Unfortunately there are some people who simply can’t buy into the superhero genre and you know what…….that’s 100% ok with me.  If you can’t enjoy something that the majority embrace then simply turn the other cheek.  I for one see American football to be the best and most effective sleeping medication in human history.  However I completely understand that it’s the most popular sport in the US and I should let those that enjoy it relish while watching it.  I’ll just quietly adjust my attention in another direction.

So go ahead Mr. Emmerich, make your movies where a technologically advanced, invading alien army is taken down by a 1996 Macintosh PowerBook.  Or where your protagonist is literally running away from global warming.  As for me, I’m going to watch my movies about a teenager who gains superpowers after being bitten by a radioactive spider and others with a talking raccoon shooting machine guns.

Read the original article on the director’s comments here: https://www.theguardian.com/film/2016/jun/18/roland-emmerich-on-independence-day-resurgence

Written by Eric Bradach

Leave a Reply

